शरीरेन्द्रिय सत्वात्मा संयोगो। – चरक संहिता १।४२
śarīrendriya satvātmā saṃyogo।1.42

Meaning: The union of Shareera (body), Indriya (sense organs), Satva (mind) and Atma (soul).

Chapters 1-7 have introduced you the foundational frameworks of Ayurveda. These include the aims and philosophy of the field, elements of the universe, and then then internal bodily concepts of the doshas, tattvas, gunas, koshas, dhattus, and rasas.  

Chapter 1 gives you a beginner’s eye view of Ayurveda. It starts off with defining the term as the ‘science of life’. It adopts a natural and holistic system of health, by linking internal body composition with the elements of nature. This is achieved by connecting the mind, body, and soul. It also explains methods of knowledge transferral through centuries, such as through oral traditions and shlokas, and finally addresses other holistic healing systems. 

Chapter 2 looks at the universe around us. The five earthly elements – namely, ether, air, fire, water, and earth – are intrinsically linked to bodily constitution and the control of one’s indriyas or sense organs. 

Chapter 3 talks about the doshas (biological energies) and the tattvas (principles of the universe). It illustrates how the tridosha in one’s body (namely, vatta, pitta, and kapha) work in harmony to enable the body’s energy balance. It further speaks of how the 25 tattvas form the absolute reality of human existence. 

Chapter 4 talks about the gunas, or attributes of the universe. There are the sattva, rajas, and tamas gunas, each of which hold different characteristics. 

Chapters 5, 6 and 7 bring up concepts unique to the human body. Firstly, the koshas are different layers of the body, literally translating to a sheath or covering. Next, the dhatus are the body’s building blocks (such as lymph, blood, fat, bone, and muscles). Finally, we have the rasas, which are the types of taste receptors. Ayurveda recognises sweet, sour, salty, bitter, pungent and astringent tastes. 

These have given you the basic tools to understanding the more complicated concepts of Ayurveda. The next few chapters consider the different systems of the body in detail. Move on to Chapter 9 (about the digestive system), by clicking here.

You can refer back to the broader course outline here. 

Scroll down below to ask any questions in relation to this chapter. 


Article By:

Mekosha Ayurveda

"The Mekosha team works hard to put together curated knowledge to help you with your holistic healing journey. Subscribe now to receive more such useful articles."

Related Stories

| Oct 07 |

Ayurveda: Origin, Healing, and Wellness

The Science Ayurveda is an ancient Indian medical system. It is based on the concept of the balance of three “doshas” in the body. The Ayurveda Treatment is a healing and wellness science that offers a range of traditional therapies and organic medicines to impart mental and physical wellness. Origin The Ayurveda Treatment is said […]

Read on

| Jul 24 |

Course Outline: Starting Your Ayurveda Course

Welcome to Ayurveda Learning with Mekosha Ayurveda. We are ever so happy to be a part of your Ayurvedic journey. This course has been created for those who want to understand Ayurvedic Theories & Practical Applications from experts in the field of Ayurveda. Our panel of doctors and experts, that have contributed to make this […]

Read on
    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop
      Apply Coupon
      Unavailable Coupons
      gunjan10 Get 10% off Coupon code given to Gunjan Bhutani
      mekosha10 Get 10% off 10% off on order of products->Priti Parihar Instagram influencer
      mekosha20 Get 20% off Email Marketing Discount code
      swastha Get 10% off 10% off on order of products by Dr. Divyansh Jaiswal customers
      wellness Get 20% off 20% off on nutraceuticals